<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:wfw="http://wellformedweb.org/CommentAPI/"
	xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
	xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom"
	xmlns:sy="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/syndication/"
	xmlns:slash="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/slash/"
	>

<channel>
	<title>Xoke.org &#187; eMail</title>
	<atom:link href="http://xoke.org/category/email/feed/" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link>http://xoke.org</link>
	<description>Xoke&#039;s Small Area of the Net</description>
	<lastBuildDate>Tue, 25 Oct 2011 18:09:47 +0000</lastBuildDate>
	<language>en</language>
	<sy:updatePeriod>hourly</sy:updatePeriod>
	<sy:updateFrequency>1</sy:updateFrequency>
			<item>
		<title>I am not stupid</title>
		<link>http://xoke.org/2009/06/30/i-am-not-stupid/</link>
		<comments>http://xoke.org/2009/06/30/i-am-not-stupid/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Tue, 30 Jun 2009 22:26:59 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Xoke</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[eMail]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false"></guid>
		<description><![CDATA[In fact I have been around on the internet for quite some time now. My first modem was a 1200/2400 baud thing that is larger then this laptop! I still have it somewhere (well it&#039;s stored at my parents house) and I will have to get pictures sometime. Anyway, I received this email just now, [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>In fact I have been around on the internet for quite some time now.  My first modem was a 1200/2400 baud thing that is larger then this laptop!  I still have it somewhere (well it&#039;s stored at my parents house) and I will have to get pictures sometime.</p>
<p>Anyway, I received this email just now, slightly edited as I mention below:</p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<pre>
From: Google Promotions [winners@google.co.uk]
Reply To: Google Promotions [mrg_benfield@msn.com]
Subject: GOOGLE GIVE-AWAY WINNING NOTIFICATION!!! GOOGLE GIVE-AWAY WINNING NOTIFICATION!!!

This E-mail is to inform you that your e-mail emerged as a winner of &pound;850,000.00 GBP (Eight Hundred And Fifty Thousand British Pounds) in our online Give-away draws. Over &pound;20,000,000.00 (Twenty Million British pounds) is to be given out for this Draws. No purchases of tickets were required. Participants for the draws were randomly selected from a world wide range of web searchers who use the Google search engine (Googler) and other Google ancillary services. Google is now the biggest search engine worldwide and in an effort to make sure that it remains the most widely used search engine, Google is running an e-mail beta test.
Your email address was linked with our Computer Generated Profile Numbers(CGPN) and attached to the following details: Computer Generated Profile Numbers (CGPN):[REMOVED], Ticket number: [REMOVED], Serial numbers:[REMOVED], Lucky numbers: [REMOVED], was picked among our lucky winners to receive &pound;500, 000.00 British pounds. Winners were selected randomly through a computer ballot system from worldwide users of the Google search engine.
YOUR WINNING DETAILS ARE AS FOLLOW:
Computer Generated Profile Numbers (CGPN):[REMOVED]
Ticket number: [REMOVED]
Lucky numbers: [REMOVED]
Serial numbers: [REMOVED]
To claim your give-away prize, send the following. Your full names................. , sex...............................,Location............................Alternate e-mail address..................Your winning details.................
To your processing agent (Mr Grahams Benfield) who have been assigned to handle your winning file and payment processing.

Your Processing Agent contact:
Mr. Mr Grahams Benfield,
Email: <a href="mailto:mr.g.benfield@gmail.com">mr.g.benfield@gmail.com</a>

Sincerely,
Mrs Lisa James.
</pre>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<p>For the benefit of anyone who Googled this page, this is fake.</p>
<p>We can see this fairly easily from several things.</p>
<ol>
<li>Seriously, why would google just give away money to you without actually making a huge deal about it.  They would have ads everywhere saying &#039;in September, win a million bucks just by Googling&#039; or whatever.  I haven&#039;t heard anything about it, so they didn&#039;t.</li>
<li>The &#039;from&#039; email address is Google.co.uk.  This ties in with the prize being in GBP, but &#039;from&#039; email addresses are way too easy to fake so we will ignore this.</li>
<li>The &#039;reply to&#039; email address is an MSN account!  Google would have an @google.com or @google.co.uk account (see 2 above) and would never use a competitor&#039;s email account!</li>
<li>The email at the bottom is a gmail account, again a <em>free</em> email account and not a real Google account.  This is different from the earlier email address.</li>
<li>Grammar.  Mr. Mr Grahams Benfield.  Mr Mr?  Grahams?  Many other things are wrong also so this looks like it&#039;s not a proper company communication.</li>
</ol>
<p>There are more reasons I&#039;m sure, I could dig through the headers.&nbsp;  But basically it&#039;s a scam, they will try to get all your details (bank details also) from you and then probably even say that taxes have to be paid, so can you send them the money.  Don&#039;t fall for this.</p>
<p>Yes, my regular readers are unlikely to, but I figured people will Google for this and I&#039;d make it sure.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://xoke.org/2009/06/30/i-am-not-stupid/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
		</item>
		<item>
		<title>Damn Spammers</title>
		<link>http://xoke.org/2008/10/29/damn-spammers/</link>
		<comments>http://xoke.org/2008/10/29/damn-spammers/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Thu, 30 Oct 2008 04:46:56 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Xoke</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[eMail]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Rants]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Website]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false"></guid>
		<description><![CDATA[It appears some spam is floating around claiming to be from this domain.  Specifically wubutofased@xoke.org is the originating address.  To be clear here, this was not from here.  I have received various bounce backs from people, various mailbox full and out of office messages.  It appears to be a &#039;greeting card&#039; which probably means it&#039;s [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p style="text-align: justify;">It appears some spam is floating around claiming to be from this domain.  Specifically <a href="mailto:wubutofased@xoke.org">wubutofased@xoke.org</a> is the originating address.  To be clear here, <i>this was not from here</i>.  I have received various bounce backs from people, various mailbox full and out of office messages.  It appears to be a &#039;greeting card&#039; which probably means it&#039;s a virus.  It links to <a href="/fakelink">http://laureselignac.com/e-card.exe</a> (please note, that link will NOT take you to the bad file &#8211; it bounces to a non-existant page within this domain) which, chances are, is a Trojan.</p>
<p style="text-align: justify;"> </p>
<p style="text-align: justify;">If you got here by Googling wondering where the email came from, I did not send it and if you clicked the link you need to virus check your computer.  There are various free virus scanners out there that should hopefully pick it up such as AVG by a company called Grisoft.</p>
<p style="text-align: justify;"> </p>
<p style="text-align: justify;">I am sorry this happened, it had nothing to do with me &#8211; spammers just create  a fake email address to send messages out from.  This is why you get sent to a different website.  If I had sent you an email link it would point back here.  You should never trust links in an email especially if they link to an exe file (files ending .exe).</p>
<p style="text-align: justify;"> </p>
<p style="text-align: justify;"> </p>
<p style="text-align: justify;">Xoke</p>
]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://xoke.org/2008/10/29/damn-spammers/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
		</item>
	</channel>
</rss>

